Eat Until You’re 80% Full (Plus Belmont Jewel Recipe)

EatingGrinch

For the life of me, I can’t figure out how I want to spend my summer, which is really impacting my ability to determine career goals.

On the side, however, I’ve come up with the bright idea to get healthy. (As if this is unique and no one has done it before me.) I’m trying to exercise three times a week, plus I got a fitbit. It’s not that I really need to lose weight. My main concern is weight gain. But I’d also love to regain muscle tone. Though I don’t have an eating disorder, I obsess about nearly every bite of food I put in my body. I even think about food when I’m not eating.

I read about this Japanese rule that said something along the lines of, ‘eat until you’re 80% full.’ This idea really intrigues me. (Coincidentally, I’m at the average daily step count as the Japanese. It’s somewhere around 7,000. Thanks fitbit!)

But I won’t starve myself or do anything extreme. I just have to stop the emotional eating/eating when I’m bored, and rewrite my schema of food in relation to body image.

I’m about to go to barre class, and I’m actually excited about it. I would love to get back to my dancer body. (But is it healthy for a 21-year-old to have the body of a 15-year-old? Is this realistic?)

AND I’ve quit drinking during the week. This should help prevent weight gain. Also, I sleep more heavily when I drink, and it’s harder to wake up in the morning. Two birds, one stone.

But tomorrow’s Friday, and I’m going to make myself a Belmont Jewel. The Belmont Stakes was last week, and there is a signature drink for the race, which I made for some family and friends. It’s really, really good. If you’re interested, here’s the recipe:

  • 1.5 oz Bourbon
  • 2 oz Lemonade
  • 1 oz Pomegranate Juice
  • Garnish with whatever you want

BelmontJewel

Leave a Reply

